10MILA 2011  



Main sponsor

Botkyrka Kommun

Läs mer om Botkyrka kommun


Riksten Friluftsstad



Göta ingenjörregemente




Nordströms Trä



Omega Point




Skarpnäcks OL

Tullinge SK


Salpa-Jukola 18.-19.6.2011


Spring Cup

Finnish favourite victory in the men´s relay

Published by Åsa Flodmark - 2011-05-01 09:34
Updated: 2011-05-01 09:42
Print Skriv ut denna sida
Page loaded 90814 times
Bookmark and Share

After sunset it was time for the start of the men''s relay, and more than 350 teams went off into the darkness,with a massive floodlight run down the war time runway. They were facing tricky orieneering that would require a lot of skill from the runners.

Kalevan Rasti
Victory for Kalevan Rasti. Photo: Rasmus Westergren

As always, there are many teams that have a chance at victory. The question was which team had prepared better this time, perhaps last year''s winners Kaleva Rasti, Halden in Norway, as always ranked at the top, or perhaps one of the Swedish teams, IFK Lidingö SOK, Södertälje-Nykvarn or why not Järla?

The first exchange saw twelve teams in less than a minute, with Kalevan Rasti in the lead, followed by Denseln and SNO. The remaining top teams were a mix of Norwegian, Finnish and Swedish. An open story so far!

After the second leg Kristiansand had gained a lead of more than a minute, while other teams lost time. The clock ticked over four minutes for both Halden and SNO, while Kalevan was the team closest to Kristiansand.

The third leg runners gathered up the field again, with distances much shorter. Kalevan had now regained the lead with both Göteborg and Ulricehamn shortly behind, they in turn were only seconds in front of Kristiansand, Denseln and Halden.

The Long Night is a classic in these contexts, and this year the runners really had the opportunity to stretch out. As always, however, they must think before acting. Now we find a new Finnish team on top, Turun Metsänkävijät 1, with only a few seconds to the chasing Göteborg, Kalevan, Järla, Lidingö, Hällen, Halden, Vehkalahden Veikot, Tyrving, Denseln, Kristiansand, Göteborg-Majorna and SNO, all in the space of just over a half minute.

Olle Boström in Järla change over to Jakob Jansson after the long night leg, långa natten.
Photo: Rasmus Westergren

Although the subsequent fifth leg measured little more than 8 kilometers and had an estimated duration of 45 minutes a lot happened. The favourites are still in the lead, however, a number of teams lost time, so now it''s six teams within 20 seconds with nothing but favorites at the top. Now Halden holds top position, followed by Kalevan Rasti. The best Swedish team is SNO in third place, seconds before Lidingö, and with Turun Metsänkävijät and Järla just behind.

During the dawn on the 6th leg the hunt continued. Södertalje-Nykvarn went to the lead, but could not get rid of final victors Kalevna Rasti or Järla. Halden, however, was distanced by just over three minutes.

On the terminal legs the runners experience stunning terrain. There were only minor reversals in the lead, with Kalevan Rasti now leading Södertälje-Nykvarn and Järla. It now became clear which teams would battle for victory. Halden was now five minutes behind, with Lidingö a further three minutes back.

After a few shorter legs the eighth leg of more than 12 km saw teams remain essentially as before, changing  places with each other but differing by only seconds. Halden has a good run, reducing the lead by half.

During the ninth leg Kalevan Rasti made sure that the last stretch runner Thierry Gueorgiou would have the best possible position with almost two minutes lead over Södertälje-Nykvarn and two more minutes to Halden. Thierry did not disappoint, and  led his team to second straight victory in 10MILA. The other runners in the victorious team were: Kiril Nikolov, Miika Hernelahti, Hannu Airila, Jere Pajunen, Adam Chromy, Simo Martomaa, Jan Prochazka, Philippe Adamski and Fabian Hertner. Halden took home second place and Södertälje-Nykvarn got the final podium position in this year''s competition, and became the best Swedish team.

Best Swedish club, Södertälje-Nykvarn. Photo: Rasmus Westergren


1) Kalevan Rasti, Finland (Kiril Nikolov, Miika Hernelahti, Hannu Airila, Jere Pajunen, Adam Chromy, Simo Martomaa, Jan Prochazka, Philippe Adamski, Fabian Hertner, Thierry Gueorgiou), 656.12,

2) Halden SK, Norge (Björn Eriksen, Vincent Coupat, Erik Axelsson, Jon Pedersen, Magne Dähli, Marius Bjugan, Sören Bobach, Emil Wingstedt, Mats Haldin, Olav Lundanes), +3.14,

3) Södertälje-Nykvarn Orientering (Rickard Ohlsson, Petter Eriksson, Kenth Ohlsson, Erik Liljequist, Anton Östlin, Jonas Leandersson, Pål Skogtjärn, Scott Fraser, Graham Gristwood, Matthias Müller), +4.00,

4) Järla Orientering, +14.07,
5) Göteborg-Majorna OK, +16.35,
6) OK Denseln, +16.38,
7) Kristiansand OK, Norge, +16.47,
8) IFK Lidingös SOK, +20.59,
9) Turun Metsänkävijät, +23.50,
10) Vehkalahden Veikot, Finland, +26.54.



10MILA 2011 - Föreningen Tiomilakavlen. Webmaster 10MILA 2011 10MILA